Endowed Professorships

Named in honor of significant benefactors to the college, each professorship recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding performance in instruction, scholarship and service, while serving as a positive role model for students. 

Current Holders

Alfred Adams Banking Professorship
Chris McNeil
Finance, Banking & Insurance

L.M. (Bud) Baker, Jr. Professorship
Jim Stoddard
Marketing & Supply Chain Management

Beroth Oil – Four Brothers Professorship
John Whitehead

Beroth Professorship of Marketing
Pia Albinsson
Marketing & Supply Chain Management

Harlan E. Boyles Professorship
Robin Romanus

Duane D. Daggett Professorship in Management
Mark Lewis

Dean’s Club Professorship
Pia Albinsson, Marketing & Supply Chain Management
Charlie Chen, Computer Information Systems
Kevin Eller, Accounting
Jeff Hobbs, Finance, Banking & Insurance
Rachel Shinnar, Management
Brock Stoddard, Economics

Dean’s Club Ethics Fellow
Partners in Excellence
Leigh Dunston
Finance, Banking & Insurance 

Freeman Insurance Professorship
Lori Medders
Finance, Banking & Insurance 

John W. Guffey, Jr. Professorship
Bonnie Guy
Marketing & Supply Chain Management

Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Distinguished Professorship in Ethics
Jim Westerman

Independent Insurance Agents of NC Insurance Professorship
Dave Marlett
Finance, Banking & Insurance 

NC Bankers Professorship
Harry Davis
Finance, Banking & Insurance

Kenneth E. Peacock Accounting Professorship
Pennie Bagley, Accounting
Ken Brackney, Accounting 

Wayne L. Sumner Insurance
Austin Eggers
Finance, Banking & Insurance

David A. Thompson Professorship in Applied Investments
Brandy Hadley
Finance, Banking & Insurance

Recent Appointments

Eggers named Sumner Insurance Distinguished Scholar

Eggers named Sumner Insurance Distinguished Scholar

Austin Eggers, an associate professor in Appalachian State University's Department of Finance, Banking and Insurance, has been named the inaugural Way...

Hadley named Thompson Professor of Applied Investments

Hadley named Thompson Professor of Applied Investments

Brandy Hadley has been named the David A. Thompson Professor of Applied Investments in Appalachian State University’s Walker College of Business.&nb...

Five earn professorships in Walker College of Business

Five earn professorships in Walker College of Business

Five faculty members at Appalachian State University have been appointed to professorships in the Walker College of Business, and six have been reappo...

Dr. Pennie Bagley, Dr. Ken Brackney

Bagley, Brackney named Peacock Accounting Professors

Two Appalachian State University professors have been appointed to the Kenneth E. Peacock Accounting Professorship in the Walker College of Business.D...

Eligibility and Selection

Eligibility, Term, and Award Guidelines

  • Only tenured and tenure-track faculty within the Walker College of Business are eligible to receive a professorship. 
  • Only one professorship (including Distinguished Professorships, which are awarded under different guidelines) may be held by a faculty member at any given time.
  • A recipient will hold a specified professorship for a period of two years. The recipient may be nominated for another two-year term for the specified professorship, for a maximum four years total. Recipients will be eligible again for nomination for a Partners in Excellence Professorship two years after holding two consecutive two-year terms or a maximum of four years.
  • A recipient will receive an annual salary supplement not to exceed $5,000, subject to the availability of funding. A recipient may request that some portion of the annual award be used for professional development or allowable research-related expenses.

Selection Process

  • The dean of the Walker College of Business will solicit nominations from business faculty members prior to the start of the fiscal year in which a professorship will become open. Self-nomination is not accepted.
  • The dean may consult with various college constituencies in selecting a recipient of a professorship.
  • The dean may select someone who is not nominated.
  • The dean will announce the recipients of open professorships for the following year by the close of the spring semester.

Selection Criteria

  • A recipient must have demonstrated a consistent record in performance of "Exceeds Expectations," (in reference to the Appalachian State Faculty Annual Performance Evaluation)  in at least one of the three areas of Instruction, Research, or Service, and a record of performance of no less than "Meets Expectations" in other dimensions.
  • A recipient must have a record of representing the college well and serving as a positive role model for students.

[ Download Eligibility and Selection PDF ]