Endowed Professorships

Named in honor of significant benefactors to the college, each professorship recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding performance in instruction, scholarship and service, while serving as a positive role model for students. Recipients receive a salary stipend to further advance their work and, in most cases, retain the professorship for a  specific number of years. 

Current Holders

Alfred Adams Banking Professorship
Chris McNeil
Finance, Banking & Insurance

L.M. (Bud) Baker, Jr. Professorship
Partners in Excellence
 Lakshmi Iyer
 Computer Information Systems

Beroth Oil – Four Brothers Professorship
Partners in Excellence
John Whitehead

Beroth Professorship of Marketing
Pia Albinsson
Marketing & Supply Chain Management

Harlan E. Boyles Professorship
Partners in Excellence
Tracy Reed

David A. Thompson Professorship in Applied Investments
Finance, Banking & Insurance

Duane D. Daggett Professorship in Management
Partners in Excellence
Mark Lewis

Dean’s Club Professorship
Partners in Excellence
Pia Albinsson, Marketing & Supply Chain Management
Joseph Cazier, Computer Information Systems
Heather Dixon-Fowler, Management
Tammy Kowalczyk, Accounting
Ash Morgan, Economics
Rachel Shinnar, Management

Dean’s Club Ethics Fellow
Partners in Excellence
Leigh Dunston
Finance, Banking & Insurance 

Freeman Insurance Professorship
Lori Medders
Finance, Banking & Insurance 

John W. Guffey, Jr. Professorship
Partners in Excellence
Bonnie Guy
Marketing & Supply Chain Management

Governor James E. Holshouser, Jr. Distinguished Professorship in Ethics
Jim Westerman

Independent Insurance Agents of NC Insurance Professorship
Dave Marlett
Finance, Banking & Insurance 

Kenneth E. Peacock Accounting Professorship
Pennie Bagley, Accounting
Ken Brackney, Accounting 

NC Bankers Professorship
Harry Davis
Finance, Banking & Insurance 

Recent Appointments

Dr. Pennie Bagley, Dr. Ken Brackney

Bagley, Brackney named Peacock Accounting Professors

Two Appalachian State University professors have been appointed to the Kenneth E. Peacock Accounting Professorship in the Walker College of Business.D...

Albinsson named Beroth Professor of Marketing

Albinsson named Beroth Professor of Marketing

Pia Albinsson has been named the Beroth Professor of Marketing in the Walker College of Business at Appalachian State University. Dr. Pia Al...

From top left, clockwise, are Pia Albinsson, Joseph Cazier, Bonnie Guy, John Whitehead, Rachel Shinnar, Mark Lewis and  Lakshmi Iyer

Seven earn professorships in Walker College of Business

Seven Appalachian State University professors have been appointed to professorships in the Walker College of Business.Four additional professors have ...

From upper left, clockwise: Appalachian Business Professors Pia Albinsson, Dana Clark, Heather Dixon-Fowler, Pete Groothuis, Scott Hunsinger, Tammy Kowalczyk, Ash Morgan and Tracy Reed

Eight earn professorships in Walker College of Business

About the AwardsAppalachian State University professors Tracy Reed, Tammy Kowalczyk, Heather Dixon-Fowler and Ash Morgan have been awarded professorsh...

Eligibility and Selection


  • Only tenure-track faculty within the College of Business are eligible to receive a professorship.
  • Only one professorship may be held at any given time, but past recipients may be eligible for other professorships.
  • A recipient will retain a specified professorship for a period of two years, renewable for a maximum four years total. The two-year terms may be consecutive.
  • A recipient will receive a salary supplement equal to the payout allowed on the endowment for the professorship. The recipient may request that some of the total be paid for work-related expenses instead of the salary supplement. The recipient will receive other state allocated salary increases earned without regard to the salary supplement. (The total supplement is projected to be $4,000 per year.)

Selection Process

  • The Dean of the College of Business will solicit nominations prior to the fiscal year in which a professorship will become open. Self-nomination is not encouraged.
  • The Dean is encouraged to consult with various College constituencies in selecting a recipient of a professorship, but a selection committee is not recommended. 
  • The Dean may select someone who is not nominated.
  • The Dean will decide the recipients of open professorships for the following year by the close of the spring semester.

Selection Criteria

  • A recipient must have a demonstrated record of outstanding performance in instruction, scholarship, or service, and a record of performance in all three of these areas which meet expectations.
  • A recipient must have a record of representing the College well and serving as a positive role model for students.

[ Download Eligibility and Selection PDF ]