Alumna Tammy DeBoer '91 serves as March 22 Boyles Lecturer

The 65th event in Appalachian State University's Boyles Distinguished Lecture Series took place Friday, March 22 (10:00 a.m.) in the Holmes Convocation Center.

Tammy DeBoer ’91, President of Harris Teeter, delivered the lecture, entitled: Cultivating a Thriving Company Culture: Unlocking the Power of People.

View Event Photos


DeBoer is the fourth App State alum to serve as a Boyles Lecturer. Chairman & CEO Lexington Home Brands Bob Stec ECO MKT ’76 served as lecturer in 2003. President of the Duke Endowment Gene Cochrane BUS ECO ’72 served as the lecturer in 2011. Mr. Jamie Harris ACC ’84, Chief Financial Officer (CFO) at RXO served as lecturer in 2023.

See all past lecturers  at

As Harris Teeter's president, DeBoer leads the strategic growth and development of the wholly owned division of Kroger that employs approximately 35,000 associates.

DeBoer has more than 30 years of diverse retail experience, including operations, merchandising, marketing, brand strategy, and mergers and acquisitions. 

About Harris Teeter

Harris Teeter, a wholly owned subsidiary of The Kroger Co.(NYSE: KR), was co-founded in 1960 by North Carolina grocers W.T. Harris and Willis Teeter. Harris Teeter operates more than 250 stores and 60 fuel centers in seven states and the District of Columbia. In addition to its retail stores, Harris Teeter also owns grocery, frozen food, and perishable distribution centers in Greensboro, NC and Indian Trail, NC. Harris Teeter is headquartered in Matthews, NC and employs approximately 35,000 associates.

About the Boyles Lecture Series

App State’s Boyles Distinguished Lecture Series began in 1988, and it was dedicated in 1991 to North Carolina State Treasurer Harlan E. Boyles (1929-2003), in honor of his service to the state and citizens of North Carolina. A native of Lincoln County, Boyles was elected to six four-year terms as State Treasurer, from 1977 until 2001, and served under nine governors. His name was associated throughout the state and nation with fiscal integrity, hard work and honesty. U.S. Senator James T. Broyhill (1927-2023) was instrumental in establishing a fund to permanently endow the series in Boyles’ name. Learn more onlne,

Alumna Tammy DeBoer '91 will speak as March 22 Boyles Lecturer
Published: Mar 22, 2024 8:00am