App State earns 2024 Clark Johnson Achievement Award

Appalachian State University's student chapter of the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA) is the 2024 Clark Johnson Achievement Award Winner.

The student organization was recognized by the national IMA for efforts best reflecting the characteristics of Clark Johnson, a longtime chief financial officer of Johnson & Johnson, who held many leadership positions within IMA.

"We appreciated Appalachian State University efforts to increase enrollment in the IMA club, bolster engagement across the College of Business and Economics students and bringing awareness to the various career paths for
accounting and finance students," said Robert Decker, vice president corporate controller and chief accounting officer at Johnson & Johnson. 

Clark Johnson was known for outstanding leadership through innovation, organizational development and interdependent partnerships. The Clark Johnson Achievement Award recognizes a student chapter whose efforts best reflect the characteristics of Johnson and that demonstrate a mastery of the needed skill sets in a complex environment where students’ best interests remain their primary focus. 

The award includes a $5,000 grant to support the chapter's efforts in building and sustaining an outstanding IMA Student Chapter. 

Following is a complete list of award winners.

  • 2024- Appalachian State University
  • 2023- Ashland University
  • 2022- University of Louisiana, Lafayette
  • 2021- Stark State College
  • 2020- Stark State College
  • 2019- Stark State College
  • 2018- Brigham Young University
  • 2017- Brigham Young University
  • 2016- University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • 2015- University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • 2014- Grand Canyon University
  • 2013- Culver-Stockton College 
  • 2012- Grand Canyon University
  • 2011- Quincy University
  • 2010- Athens State University
  • 2009- Western Illinois University
  • 2008- Quincy University
  • 2007- Culver-Stockton College
  • 2006- Mount Union College
  • 2005- University of Sonora
  • 2004- Western Illinois University

Kim Zahller is App State's IMA student chapter advisor. Connect with her or learn more about online,

2024 Clark Johnson Achievement Awardee: Appalachian State University
Published: Jun 17, 2024 4:42pm