Appalachian celebrates founders day, commemorates new campus plaza

On September 5, Appalachian State University celebrated its founding day with a commemorative event and dedication of a new campus plaza.

Read about Appalachian's Founders Day 2018

Initially called Watauga Academy, then Appalachian Training School for Teachers, and finally Appalachian State University, the school was founded on September 5, 1899 by B.B. Dougherty and his brother D.D., as well as D.D.'s wife, Lillie. Appalachian originally offered a free 10-week program for students, before raising tuition to $1-3/month. It offered three courses to students: Common School Course, Academic Course and Two Year's Collegiate Course. The school also offered instructions in Music, Art and Business, with special attention on public school teachers. Satie Hunt and her husband, James Edgar "Ed" Broyhill, were students at Appalachian Training School for Teachers.

Flash forward to 2016, the Broyhill Family was instrumental in the creation of the Broyhill Commons space in Peacock Hall, home of the Walker College of Business. Dr. Heather Norris, dean of Walker College, noted the commons' frequent use and said it honors Appalachian's "past, present and future relationship with the Broyhill family."

Read more about the Broyhill Commons and the Broyhills' story.

"It was an opportunity for me to remember our college's founding families, too, and to reflect on a wealth of good our Appalachian family has done throughout the years," said Norris, who attended the Founder's Day dedication and ribbon-cutting ceremony September 5.

Norris added that the Walker College of Business will celebrate its 50th anniversary in the 2020-21 academic year.

Walker College of Business Dean Heather Norris is pictured, fourth from right, with members of the 2018-19 administration on the newly developed Founders Plaza on September 5, 2018.
Published: Sep 8, 2018 10:08am