Business students honored for outstanding academic performance

Thirty business students were recognized Friday, April 20 during the 2018 Walker College of Business (WCOB) Honors Convocation, held in the Plemmons Student Union on the campus of Appalachian State University.

View the photo album.

Sponsored by First National Bank, the WCOB Honors Convocation brings together students with the best academic performance and top students participating in organizations to be honored for their outstanding performance. The event is also the forum to announce the top student overall for the academic year.

According to Walker College Associate Dean Sam Formby, the top student honor was too close to call, so two students share the 2018 honor: accounting major Emily Young and marketing major Cole Maita.

View a complete list of Walker College of Business top overall students.

The other top student undergraduate honorees by major are:

  • Computer Information Systems: Chasen Robert Bettinger, Daniel Reid Collins
  • Economics: Mikayla A Gibbes 
  • Finance and Banking: Stephen Andrew Potter 
  • Hospitality and Tourism Management: Madison Sloan Rubenstein
  • International Business: Jack Terrell, Phuong Vu
  • Management: Joshua Everhardt
  • Risk Management and Insurance: Carla Denise Matheus
  • Supply Chain Management: Emily Elizabeth Turner

Three graduate students were honored for outstanding performance in their respective graduate programs. They are:

  • Master of Science in Accounting: Timothy Alan Walker
  • Master of Business Administration: Isaac Thomas Church
  • Master of Science in Applied Data Analytics: Kiefer James Smith

Many of the nearly two dozen student organizations housed in the college took the opportunity to honor a top student who has made a major impact or has shown great leadership during their tenure with the organization. Those students are:

  • American Marketing Association: Ariel Hunter Pope
  • Appalachian Accountants: Jacquelynn Marie Huckert
  • Appalachian Supply Chain Club: Emily Elizabeth Turner
  • Association of Information Technology Professionals: Daniel Reid Collins, David Bailey Wilson
  • Association of Student Entrepreneurs: Savannah Lee Graepel
  • Beta Alpha Psi: Colby Travis McGrath
  • Executive Impact Club: Hope Elizabeth Anderson
  • Finance Student Association: Patrick Leonard Griffeth
  • Honors Association: Cole Christopher Maita
  • Hospitality and Tourism Management Student Association: Samantha Leigh Ballantyne 
  • International Business Student Association: Alan James Leshock
  • National Association for Business Economics: Mallory Drew Vannoy
  • Net Impact Appalachian State: Blair Elizabeth Huff
  • Phi Beta Lambda: Jordan Perry Boyd
  • Pruett Award for Outstanding RMI Graduate: Shelby Elizabeth Weatherman
  • Walker Fellows: John Tristan Vines

Matt Hollifield, a 1988 Appalachian alumnus, delivered comments during the event. Hollifield is senior vice president and chief accounting officer Lowe's Companies, Inc. who earned the college's Top Student Overall award in 1988.

Hollifield advised students to follow three core principles that guide his daily work with Lowes:

  1. Do the right thing.
  2. Do your best.
  3. Treat others as you wish to be treated
Business students honored for outstanding academic performance
Published: Apr 22, 2018 9:02pm