Two business alumni among 12 inducted into inaugural Trillium Society

Two Walker College of Business alumni are inaugural inductees of the Trillium Society, a community of Beaver College of Health Sciences affiliates that recognizes and celebrates distinguished achievements of college affiliates who exemplify the college’s values.

The inductees are Dr. Richard Sparks HCM '76, MBA '78 and Beth Murray HCM '86. Both earned bachelor's degrees in Health Care Management, a program that was housed in the Walker College of Business before the opening of the Beaver College in 2010.

In addition to being inducted into the Trillium Society, Dr. Sparks received one of two Beaver College Distinguished Alumni Awards.

Retired president of present-day Appalachian Regional Healthcare, Sparks has a legacy of accomplishments including facilitating the donation of the land where Levine Hall now stands, establishing endowed scholarship and awards, and mentoring students, alumni and faculty in health sciences and business.

Related: Medlin, Sparks honored as college-level alumni

In total, 12 inductees were honored at the Trillium Induction ceremony held Oct. 28 in Leon Levine Hall. Read more: College Presents Awards and Inducts 12 Leaders Into Trillium Society

Richard Sparks accepts award from Dean Huff

Dr. Richard Sparks with Beaver College of Health Sciences Dean Marie Huff

The additional inductees into the Trillium Society are former board members from the inaugural Beaver College of Health Sciences Advisory board and are:   Laura Aiken, '98, '00  David Meiburg, '82 Beth Murray, '86  Pat Phillips  Dan Williams, '68 Katie Woodle, '05
Published: Nov 9, 2022 12:05pm