Upcoming International Programs

Each academic year, the Walker College of Business offers students the opportunity to study business abroad through short-term courses designed and led by Appalachian faculty. Courses range in length from 10 to 30 days and can fulfill major or elective credit for eligible students. The 2017-18 Faculty-led Programs will take students to destinations in Asia, Europe and Latin America, with opportunities during fall, winter, spring and summer breaks, as well as summer session one.

  • International Business Seminar in France

    Thu, 10/05/2017 to Sat, 10/14/2017
    The ASU College of Business fall study abroad trip to Paris, the City of Lights, remains one of the most popular because of the confluence of business, culture, fashion, history, art, and food.  We will enjoy Fine dining restaurants and sidewalk cafés....
  • Global Supply Chain Logistics - Spain

    Fri, 10/06/2017 to Sun, 10/15/2017
    Appalachian State University and Universidad Europea de Madrid (Valencia campus), Valencia, Spain are offering this course in the use of global technologies and small business development. The objective of this course is to develop a cross cultural skill set...
  • Sustainable Business in India

    Tue, 01/02/2018 to Thu, 01/11/2018
    Learn sustainable business practices from India – a country rooted in traditions, rich in cultural heritage, sustainable practices, and resource optimization. This trip takes the students to Kolkata, in the state of West Bengal. Kolkata is located in the...
  • Doing Business in Thailand

    Fri, 01/05/2018 to Sun, 01/14/2018
    This course will focus on the complete supply chain “cradle to grave” within the context of the tourism industry.  Working in coordination with Burapha University, we will explore tourism industry in Thailand. The goal is to go well beyond providing a...
  • International Business Seminar in China

    Fri, 03/02/2018 to Sun, 03/11/2018
    The International Seminar focuses on developing an understanding of Chinese cultural differences and some important aspects of conducting business in China. Participants will visit universities, multinational, and local companies, and cultural/historical...
  • International Business Seminar in Cuba

    Sat, 03/03/2018 to Sat, 03/10/2018
    Students will participate in lectures at the University of Havana. These lectures will cover topics such as the history of Cuba and Cuba-US relations, the Effects of the Embargo, Sustainable Energy in Cuba, Entrepreneurship in Cuba, etc. These lectures will...
  • Doing Business in Japan

    Sun, 05/13/2018 to Tue, 05/22/2018
    Doing Business in Japan is a 10-day and 3-credit hour course.  This course focuses on developing students’ expertise in business and culture in Japan. Students will immerse themselves in local business and cultural environments throughout cultural...
  • Brazil - Business Society & Sustainability in Brazil

    Mon, 05/14/2018 to Thu, 05/24/2018
    This course incorporates class sessions on campus as well as classes during the summer in Brazil.  The purpose of the course is to allow ASU students to observe first-hand business practices in Brazil and evaluate their social context and environmental...
  • Angers Summer Business Program

    Wed, 05/23/2018 to Fri, 06/22/2018
    On this program, offered in collaboration with the Université d'Angers, students will take classes with Angers business students and learn international business skills, International Finance and International Brand Management in particular, while...