Three earn Dean's Club Research Prizes

Three professors in the Walker College of Business at Appalachian State University have earned Dean's Club Research Prizes. They are Dr. Dennis Guignet (first prize), Dr. Neel Das and Dr. Brandy Hadley.

"The Dean's Club Research Prizes recognize and reward the most innovative business research at Appalachian, reflecting our college's mission, vision and values and aligning with the United Nations 17 sustainable development goals," said Dr. Tim Forsyth, acting associate dean for graduate programs and research in the Walker College. "Faculty from every department in the college of business submitted research papers for consideration this year."

The prizes were awarded during the Walker College of Business' annual Sywassink Day of Excellence on Friday, August 19.

Dr. Dennis Guignet

Dr. Dennis Guignet, an assistant professor in the Department of Economics, earned first place and a $5,000 prize for his research paper "Early Childhood Lead Exposure and the Persistence of Educational Consequences into Adolescence."

His paper was published in the journal Environmental Research (2019).

The study shows that the adverse effects of early childhood exposure to even low levels of lead persist through early adolescence and that the magnitude of the resulting deficit in educational performance remains steady from 3rd through 8th grades.

Related: Economics Professor Awarded Dean's Research Prize

Dr. Brandy Hadley

The first of the two $2,500 prizes was awarded to Dr. Brandy Hadley, an assistant professor in the Department of Finance, Banking and Insurance.

Her research publication, "Executive Compensation and political sensitivity: Evidence from government contractors" provides evidence of the constraints on compensation that arrive from the political sensitivity of government contract firms and the negative relation between political sensitivity and excess executive compensation.

"I am so fortunate and thankful to work at such a great college that advocates for these types of projects and gives us the resources to continue to chase our interests," said Hadley.

Dr. Neel Das

Dr. Neel Das, a professor in the Department of Marketing and Supply Chain Management, earned a $2,500 prize for his paper, "Is cause-related marketing a winning strategy and a debt study analysis?"

Dr. Das co-authored the paper with Finance Professor Chris McNeil and Management Professors Richard Pouder and Joseph Daly

About the Dean's Club Research Prize

The Dean's Club Research Prize supports and rewards Appalachian State University business faculty who are engaged in mission-driven, high impact and innovative scholarly work.

The winners were selected by an interdisciplinary committee of business faculty members.

"This type of recognition is so appreciated," said Guignet. "Knowing that my colleagues think this is important work has helped reinforce that this is the place where I need to be."

Last year's (inaugural) research prize winners -- Dr. Rajat Panwar, Drs. Pia Albinsson and David Shows and Dr. David Dickinson -- presented the 2020 awards.

Related: Walker College announces inaugural recipients of Dean's Club Research Prize

The awards are funded by the Walker College of Business Dean's Club.

About the Dean's Club

The Walker College Dean's Club is an annual giving society designed to benefit our students and faculty while enhancing our academic programs. Contributions from Dean's Club members provide unrestricted support each year for critical needs in the college such as: student scholarships, travel funds for faculty and students to attend course-related conferences and/or visits to corporations, seed money for new programs or opportunities within the college, and resources to bring guest lecturers, such as leaders in business and government, to the classroom. Become a member, or learn more online,

Assistant professor of economics, Dr. Dennis Guignet (center) won the Dean’s Club Research Prize at Appalachian State University. Marketing professor, Dr. Neel Das (left), and finance professor Dr. Brandy Hadley (right) earned second place prizes
Published: Sep 18, 2020 11:01am