Walker College round up: new graduates honored at academic year-end

"During the novel coronavirus pandemic, as universities across the country deliver course content online, celebrating student achievement remains important at Appalachian," said Walker College of Business Dean Sandra Vannoy. "I'm proud of these students and their impressive achievements."

Some of the ways business students were honored at the end of the 2019-20 academic year include: App State's Best List, Business Graduate Programs High Achievers, Walker College Honors Program Graduates, Leadership and Legacy Awardees and the Cratis D. Williams School of Graduate Studies Honorees.

App State's Best List

Thirty Appalachian business students were included in the 2020 App State's Best List, by business major and student organization, for their academic achievements and leadership in clubs and organizations. They are:

  • Wendell Addy
  • Nick Bailey
  • Madeleine Beardsley
  • Alexandra Bluhm
  • Ashley Brim
  • Anne Bureau
  • Harrison Cameron
  • Jarrod Casper
  • Lauren Coats
  • Johanna Copley
  • John Dostert
  • Logan Draughon
  • Laura Harkleroad
  • Brooke Hilden
  • John Huckert
  • Devon Goolsby
  • Stephen Justice
  • Brooke Lane
  • Spencer Lavender
  • Jennifer Moerk
  • Kyle Nay
  • Anna Otto
  • Jacob Parlier
  • Kristine Reynolds
  • Isabella Riley
  • Will Robinson
  • Whitson Sidey
  • Marley Spencer
  • Joshua Williams
  • Christian Wilson

Honors Convocation (App State Best)

These students would have been recognized at the traditional Honors Day Convocation event, which was not held for 2020 due to social distancing measures in place at the time. The Honors Convocation is also traditionally the forum to announce the top student overall for the academic year. Nick Bailey earned the 2020 student of year award.

Read more about these students.

Business Graduate Programs High Achievers

Fifteen graduate students were named high achievers by the Walker College. Selected by graduate programs faculty members for outstanding academic achievements and contributions to their respective program, these students graduated with one or more master's degrees in one of the three business graduate programs at Appalachian: the Master of Science in Accounting, the Master of Science in Applied Data Analytics and the Master of Business Administration. The honorees are:

  • Sierra Bumgarner
  • Shannon Collins
  • Maira Compagnone
  • Jeff Hardy
  • Amy Hollar
  • Heath Huggins
  • John Huckert
  • Nika Davenport
  • Verena Gerheiser
  • Viktoriia Kovtun
  • Megan MacDonald
  • Sophia Moran
  • Timothy Ojo
  • Jana Zal
  • Joshua Williams

Graduate Student Hooding Honorees

Traditionally, these students would have been celebrated during the Walker College of Business hooding ceremony, which was not held for 2020 due to social distancing measures in place at the time.

Read more about these students.

Walker College Honors Program

Twelve Walker College students who participated in the business college honors program have graduated. They are: 

  • Nick Bailey
  • Rachael Beller
  • Abigail Edwards
  • Stephen Justice
  • John Miller
  • Jaxon Mitchell
  • Jennifer Moerk
  • Tristan Pike
  • Malory Schultz
  • Blaise Smith
  • Dakota Sweet
  • Christian Wilson

College Honors Program Participants

"These students have completed outstanding research during a challenging period," said Walker College Honors Program Director, Dr. Lorilee Medders. "I wish them the best on their graduation, and we'll be following their careers closely."

Read more about the students.

Leadership and Legacy Awardees

Seniors Rachael Beller and Grayson Farmer and MBA candidate Collin Cornelius were honored during the university's Leadership & Legacy Awards Ceremony on May 7, 2020. Beller and Farmer earned Plemmons Medallions and Cornelius was awarded the Ronny Brooks Leadership Award.

Read more about these students.

Cratis D. Williams School of Graduate Studies Honorees

Master of Science in Applied Data Analytics candidate Henning Tovar was featured in the Cratis D. Williams School of Graduate Studies 2020 Graduate Education Exposition as a Hirschvogel Fellowship Recipient.

Megan MacDonald has been inducted into the Cratis D. Williams Society of Outstanding Graduates.

Read more about these students.

Student Organizations

Each of the more than 20 business-oriented student clubs and organizations are wishing well graduating students. Additionally, college programs, including the Walker Fellows and Holland Fellows are sending off seniors. 

Read the Holland Fellows spotlight on graduating seniors.

See the Walker Fellows graduates on Facebook.

Walker College round up: new graduates honored at academic year-end
Published: May 19, 2020 9:37am